LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT

At the ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL of the LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT held at Brent Town Hall, Forty Lane, Wembley, Middlesex on Wednesday, 14th May 2008 at 7.15pm

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor Councillor Fox

The Deputy Mayor Councillor O'Sullivan

COUNCILLORS:

Ahmed Allie Anwar Arnold Bacchus Baker Bessong **Beswick** Blackman D Brown V Brown Butt Coughlin Castle Chavda Clues Colwill Crane Cummins Detre Dunn Dunwell Eniola Farrell Mrs Fernandes Green Gupta Hashmi Hirani Jackson

John Jones Joseph Kansagra Leaman Long Lorber Malik Matthews Mendoza Mistry J Moher R Moher Moloney Motley Pagnamenta C J Patel H B Patel H M Patel Powney Shah Singh Sneddon Steel Tancred Thomas Wharton Van Kalwala Van Colle

Brent Community Champions Awards

Prior to the formal business of the meeting the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Patel, presented Brent Community Champions Awards to the following people in recognition of their outstanding voluntary service within the borough:

Alec Sexton Althea Griffiths Ashokkumar Somabhai Patel Bhavika Mukeshkumar **Brigid Neal** Caroline Lenkiewicz* Chandni Chitre Dhirubhai Vadera Eileen Varley Enid Isada Jackson Harry Quainoo Heather La Frenais Herman Martyn Jean Forbes Joanna Gordon John Bowerman* John Conduit Joyce Baldy Grey Karin Jaeger Ken Mariaria Kirikumar Rambhai Patel Manubhai Makwana Mukesh Raojibhai Patel

Neil Jean Brookwick* Nirmala Patel Param Sandhu JP **Pauline Pompilis** Peter Bickers Philip Moleman Rameshchandra U. Patel Rav Frost* **Ray Stanners Reiner Thoelke** Roshan Iwaram Rupa Vara Sarah Alkhezeli Sarosh Vandrewala Seamus Harvey Sharmeem Yousaf Sheila Perry Shirley Bickers Stephen Greene Suian Rawtani **Umesh Raichada** Zoe Ryle

*these people were not able to attend and the Mayor presented their awards to their representatives.

Long Service Citations – Councillors George Crane, Paul Lorber and Irwin Van Colle

The Mayor was pleased to present Councillors George Crane, Paul Lorber and Irwin Van Colle with a memento to mark their 25 years service on the Council.

1. Election of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor H B Patel, welcomed all Members present. He then called for nominations for the office of the Mayor of the Borough for the municipal year 2008/2009.

Councillor John nominated Councillor Fox and this was seconded by Councillor Blackman. Councillor Sneddon proposed Councillor Anwar and this was seconded by Councillor Lorber. A vote was thereupon taken and it was

RESOLVED:

that Councillor Fox be and he is hereby elected, Mayor of the London Borough of Brent, for the municipal year 2008/2009.

Councillor Fox signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor.

Councillor H B Patel vacated the Chair which was taken by the newly elected Mayor.

The Mayor then thanked Members of the Council for his election and addressed the Council. He informed the Council that one of his charities for the year would be Brent Age Concern. He gave notice that he would be announcing the second charity he would be supporting at a later Council meeting.

2. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

Councillor Lorber moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor for his services to the community. Members paid tribute to the work of Councillor H B Patel during his year as Mayor.

RESOLVED:

that the Council records its appreciation of the outstanding service rendered by Councillor H B Patel as Mayor of the London Borough of Brent during the past municipal year and for the manner in which he has presided over Council meetings. The Council also appreciates his attendance at a vast number of events and functions and his service to all sections of Brent's diverse community.

The Mayor then invested Councillor H B Patel with the past Mayor's Badge and the Mayoress invested the retiring Mayoress with the past Mayoress' Badge.

Councillor H B Patel returned thanks and reflected on his year of office.

Councillor Wharton then moved a vote of thanks, which was supported by Councillors Mrs Fernandes and Arnold:

RESOLVED:

that the Council place on record their thanks and regard for the outstanding public service rendered by the co-opted members, independent members, observers and others who have served on council committees, sub-committee, consultative committees, boards, governing bodies, etc during the past municipal year.

3. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

The Mayor announced the appointment of Councillor O'Sullivan as Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Brent for the municipal year 2008/2009. The Deputy Mayor and Mayoress took their places on the dais.

4. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Corcoran.

The meeting ended at 9.50 pm

R FOX Mayor