LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT

At the ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL of the LONDON BOROUGH OF BRENT held at Brent Town Hall, Forty Lane, Wembley, Middlesex on Wednesday, 16th May 2007 at 7.15pm

PRESENT:

The Worshipful the Mayor Councillor H B Patel

The Deputy Mayor Councillor Fox

COUNCILLORS:

Ahmed John Allie Jones Anwar Joseph Arnold Kansagra Bacchus J Long Baker Lorber Malik Bessona **Beswick** Mendoza Blackman Mistry D Brown J Moher V Brown R Moher Butt Moloney Clues Motley Colwill Pagnamenta C J Patel Corcoran H M Patel Crane Cummins Powney Detre Shah Dunn Singh Dunwell Sneddon Eniola Steel Farrell Tancred Mrs Fernandes Thomas Hashmi Tullett Hirani Wharton

Jackson

Brent Citizenship Awards

Prior to the formal business of the meeting the outgoing Mayor, Councillor Joseph, presented citizenship awards covering the following categories: general, under 21's and school governors. The following people from the three categories received awards in recognition of their outstanding voluntary service within the borough:

Mr Jim Murtagh Mr Arthur Tomkinson Mrs Asha J Mehta Mr Cally Olajide Akisanya Mr Cecil Parkins Mr Harshadbhai G Patel Miss Jill Rixon Mr John Hoskins Mr Kenneth John Holmes Mr Khawaja Abdul Majid Mrs Linda Lynch Miss Mary Jane Lewis Mr Michael Kearney Mr Nirai Pal Mr Rameshchandra Chhotabhai Patel Mr Robert John Woodgate Mr Roger Macklen Mr Roy Downing Ms Serwah Lutterodt Mr Franklin Koodeswaran Mr Manish Bhatia Miss Priva Patel Mr Anthony W E Rammelt **Doris Bancroft** Mrs Emma Skala Mr George Morison Montgomery

1. Election of Mayor

Mr Len Snow

The Worshipful the Mayor, Councillor Joseph, welcomed all Members present. She then called for nominations for the office of the Mayor of the Borough for the municipal year 2007/2008.

Councillor Blackman nominated Councillor Harshadbhai B Patel and this was seconded by Councillor John. Councillor Lorber indicated that he supported the nomination of Councillor Patel.

RESOLVED:

that Councillor HB Patel be, and he is hereby elected, Mayor of the London Borough of Brent, for the municipal year 2007/2008.

Councillor Patel signed the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor.

Councillor Joseph then invested the Mayor with the Mayoral Chain and Badge of Office, and invested the new Mayoress with her Badge of Office. Councillor Joseph thereupon vacated the Chair which was taken by the newly elected Mayor.

The Mayor then thanked Members of the Council for his election and addressed the Council.

The Mayor informed the Council that his charities for the year would be St Luke's Hospice and raising money for a charity to build a blood bank in India.

2. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Mayor

Councillor Lorber moved a vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor for her services to the community. Members paid tribute to the work of Councillor Joseph during her year as Mayor.

RESOLVED:

that the Council records its appreciation of the outstanding service rendered by Councillor Joseph as Mayor of the London Borough of Brent during the past municipal year and for the manner in which she has presided over Council meetings. The Council also appreciates her attendance at many community events and functions and her service to all sections of Brent's diverse community.

The Mayor then invested Councillor Joseph with the past Mayor's Badge and the Mayoress invested the retiring Mayor's Consort with the past consort's Badge.

Councillor Joseph returned thanks and reflected on her year of office.

Councillor Wharton then moved a vote of thanks, which was supported by Councillors Kansagra and Arnold:

RESOLVED:

that the Council place on record their thanks and regard for the outstanding public service rendered by the co-opted members, independent members, observers and others who have served on council committees, sub-committees, consultative committees, boards, governing bodies, etc during the past municipal year.

3. **Appointment of Deputy Mayor**

The Mayor informed the Council that he had appointed Councillor Ralph Fox Deputy Mayor of the London Borough of Brent for the municipal year 2007/2008. The Deputy Mayor having taken his place on the dais was invested by the Mayor with his Chain and Badge of Office. The Deputy Mayoress having taken her place on the dais was invested by the Mayoress with her Chain and Badge of Office.

4. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Castle, Chavda, Coughlin, Leaman, D Long, Matthews, O'Sullivan, Ms Shaw and Van Colle.

The meeting ended at 9.30 pm

HB PATEL Mayor